Regular Meeting July 24, 1961 8:00 p.m. Courtroom

Present: Mayor Robert H. Butler

Mayor Pro-tem Sol C. Rose

Public Works Commission Administrator R. A. Muench

Public Works Commission Secretary

A. B. Carr

Councilman D. B. Maness Councilman Ted Rhodes

City Attorney J. O. Tally, Jr.

Absent: Councilman Eugene Plummer

The first item of business was the adoption of the City Budget for the fiscal year 1961-10.

Upon motion by Councilman Rose, seconded by Councilman Maness and unanimously approved. the budget was adopted as follows:

General Fund Debt Service Fund Recreation & Parks Cemetery Airport	\$2,226,958.14 451,512.50 142,102.78 32,991.62 13,753.00
Total	\$2,867,318.04

Upon motion by Councilman Rhodes, seconded by Councilman Maness and unanimously approved, the tax rate for the fiscal year 1961-62 was set at \$1.18 per \$100.00 evaluation to be distributed

General Fund Debt Service Fund Recreation & Parks Cemetery	\$.98 .07 .10 .03
Total	\$ 1.18

Upon a motion by Councilman Rhodes, seconded by Councilman Rose and unanimously approved, the following resolution regarding levying, assessing, imposing and defining the license and privilege taxes of the city for the fiscal year 1961-62 was adopted:

THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE DOES ORDAIN:

Section 1. That ordinance of the City of Fayetteville, entitled "Levying, Assessing, imposing and defining the license and privilege taxes of the City of Fayetteville for the fiscal year beginning 1 July 1950 and thereafter", which ordinance is on file in the office of the Tax Collector of the City of Fayetteville, is hereby adopted for the fiscal year beginning 1 July 1961 by reference as fully as if set out herein.

Section 2. This ordinance shall be in effect from and after its adoption.

Adopted this 24th day of July, 1961.

Robert H. Butler, Mayor

ATTEST:

City Clerk

Upon motion by Councilman Rose, seconded by Councilman Maness and unanimously approved, was Works Commission Budget for the Councilman Maness and unanimously approved, the Public Works Commission Budget for the fiscal year 1961-62 in the amount of \$5,667,780.00 was adopted as recommended by the Public Works Commission.

Upon motion by Councilman Rose, seconded by Councilman Maness and unanimously approved, the Council granted authorization to Mr. Walter C. Moorman, as Engineer for Section III of the Tallywood Development, to paye the street with the Tallywood Development, to pave the streets in the sub-division under private contract with the usual city participation

Mr. Rumbough, City Planner reported to the Council that at the request of Mayor Butler a meeting was held in Mr. Ray's office at 10:30 A. M. on July 24th concerning the development of the proposed Cross Creek Park in downtown Fayetteville. Attending were Mr. Sol Rose, Mr. C.B. of the proposed C. H. vonRosenberg, Mr. Gilbert Ray and Mr. Rumbough. The Committee recommended that the proposal have the complete support of the community and that the following persons be appointed as co-chairwomen to the Cross Creek Park Committee: Mrs. Julian Hutaff, Mrs. Neil A. currie, Jr., and Mrs. Richard Lilly and that further public meetings be held to discuss the proposed park.

Upon motion by Councilman Maness, seconded by Councilman Rhodes, the foregoing recommendation by the Park Committee was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Rumbough requested a resolution of City Council approving the establishment of a local organization to be known as the Cumberland County Economic Development Commission to serve Cumberland County, jointly with Cumberland County Board of Commissioners and the Boards of Aldermen of Spring Lake and Hope Mills.

After some discussion, Councilman Rhodes moved that the joint resolution of the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners and the City Council of the City of Fayetteville and the Boards of Aldermen of the towns of Hope Mills and Spring Lake creating the above body be approved. The motion was seconded by Councilman Maness and unanimously approved.

A copy of the resolution appears below:

JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE CUMBERIAND COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAY-ETTEVILLE, THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN OF THE TOWN OF SPRING LAKE, AND THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN OF THE TOWN OF HOPE MILLS, CREATING A CUMBERIAND COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

Under and by virtue of the power and authority granted in Chapter 158, Article 2, of the General Statutes of North Carolina, the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners, the City Council of the City of Fayetteville, the Board of Aldermen of the Town of Spring Lake, and the Board of Aldermen of the Town of Hope Mills, do hereby, jointly, create the Cumberland County Economic Development Commission.

Said Commission shall consist of five members, the original members of which are appointed by this Resolution, and successor members of which shall be appointed by similar joint resolutions. The members of said Commission shall serve without pay.

Said Commission shall have all the powers and the duties mentioned in, and be governed by, Sections 8 through 13 of Article 2, Chapter 158, of the General Statutes of North Carolina.

It is determined that no financial support for said Commission is needed at this time and none, accordingly, is provided by this Resolution; however, any subsequent financial support needed by said Commission and the formula for providing the same, shall be provided and fixed by further joint resolutions in the future by these govern-

Said Commission may, at any time, appoint advisors to itself, and may, also, request that advisors be appointed from various governmental and non-governmental groups to advise said Commission on the conduct of its activities. Said Commission shall request that an advisor to said Commission be appointed from each of the following governmental bodies: The Cumberland County Board of Commissioners, the City Council of the City of Fayetteville, the Public Works Commission of the City of Fayetteville, the Board of Aldermen of the Town of Spring Lake, and the Board of Aldermen of the Town of Hope Mills.

Said Commission may adopt such rules, regulations, by-laws, and administrative policies as it may deem necessary or proper in the conduct of its business.

The terms of the members of said Commission shall be for three years except that the initial members of said Commission below named and appointed shall serve for the terms set opposite their respective names.

The following persons are hereby appointed as the initial members of said Commission:

NAME	TO SERVE A TERM EXPI
Mr. Monroe E. Evans Mr. David L. Jones Mr. Donald W. McCoy Mr. Paul K. Thomas Mr. Thurman Williams, Jr.	30 June 1963 30 June 1963 30 June 1964 30 June 1964 30 June 1964

Adopted by the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners this ____ day of _____,1961.